Holiday cottages at Bomal-sur-Ourthe

Logo L'Orée de Bomal

L'Orée de Bomal
Holiday cottages
Recognition of the Commissariat Général au Tourisme

History

Print

ORIGIN

The history of Bomal goes far back in time. In the 12th century Bomal was known as "Boumela". This name has evolved through centuries to its present form. There are different opinions about the meaning of the name, because several origins are possible. The most cited meanings are "court of the war fighters 'and' the hill of crows".

DISCOVERIES

There are also discoveries made from different ages. There is even a prehistoric cave on the territory of Bomal in which many archeological study have been done. The Romans as well as the Franks have left evidence behind of their presence in the rich soils of Bomal and environment. Furthermore also the turbulent time of the Middle Ages left their mark on Bomal.

AND FURTHER?

Throughout the late Middle Ages Bomal belonged to different graves. This was the reason that the territory split several times until in the early 18th century it finally became the property of the lords of Cassal and Haymes, which will be the last lords until the revolution. It was one of the lords of Haymes, Jean-Baptiste de Haymes, who built the present castle between 1774 and 1776. After the French revolution, Bomal was on the territory of France but was annexed by the United Kingdom of the Netherlands in 1815, after the fall of Napoleon. In 1831, shortly after the Belgian Revolution, Bomal was included in the present province of Luxembourg. Bomal is now one of the 12 districts which constitute together Durbuy.

For more detailed information about the history , see www.bomal-sur-ourthe.be.

 

Castle
Do you have a question? - Tel: +32 (0)15 71.16.51 - GSM: +32 (0)471 06.01.06 - info@vakantiesardennen.be - sitemap

Maisons de vacances à Bomal-sur-Ourthe

Logo L'Orée de Bomal

L'Orée de Bomal
Meublés de vacances
Autorisation du Commissariat Général au Tourisme

Bomal, une histoire riche

Print

Origine

L'histoire de Bomal remonte loin dans le temps. Au 12ième siècle, Bomal était connu sous le nom de "Boumela". Ce nom a évolué à travers les siècles jusqu'à sa forme actuelle. Il y a différentes conceptions au sujet de la signification du nom, étant donné que différentes origines sont possibles. Les significations le plus citées sont "le tribunal des combattants de guerre" et "de la colline des corneilles".

Les dÉcouvertes

Il y a sur le territoire de Bomal une grotte préhistorique, classée, dans laquelle beaucoup de recherches archéologiques ont déjà été effectuées. Plusieurs découvertes d'époques différentes ont été faites. Aussi bien les Romains que les Francs ont laissés des preuves de leur présence dans le sols riches de Bomal et ses environs. Plus loin dans le temps, le Moyen-âge violent a également frappé de sa marque.

ET EN SUITE?

A travers les Moyen-âge tardifs, Bomal a appartenu à différents comtes. Pour cette raison, le territoire a été divisé plusieurs fois, jusqu'au début du 18ème siècle. A ce moment le territoire est devenu propriété des seigneurs du Cassals et du Haymes qui restaient les derniers jusqu'à la révolution. C'est le seigneur Jean-Baptiste de Haymes qui a fait construire entre 1774 et 1776 le château actuel. Après la révolution Française, Bomal est devenu territoire de France mais était de nouveau annexé en 1815, après la perte de Napoléon par le Royaume des Pays-Bas. En 1831, peu après la révolution belge, Bomal a été repris dans la province Luxembourg actuelle. Bomal est maintenant une des 12 entités qui, ensemble, forment Durbuy.

Pour une description de l'histoire plus détaillée, voir www.bomal-sur-ourthe.be.

 

château

 

Avez-vous une question? - Tél. +32 (0)15 71.16.51 - GSM: +32 (0)471 06.01.06 - info@vakantiesardennen.be - sitemap